About Us


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Renewable Energy Special Projects Committee (RESPC) shall be to increase the use of renewable energy and sustainable practices through funding of renewable energy, energy efficiency, maintenance, and energy education projects on campus.

Who We Are

We are composed of voting members, non-voting members, and ex-officio members. Voting and non-voting members are students who work and give input on RESPC projects. Ex-officio members are UNC faculty and staff members who act as administrative advisors. Non-voting membership is open to EVERYONE!

We work with several different departments, faculty, and professionals in order to generate ideas and technologies that can be used to improve the use of energy at UNC. Through a Renewable Energy student fee, we are able to fund these projects and implement new technologies and retrofits that will help UNC-Chapel Hill set the standard for campus sustainability as the flagship university in the UNC education system.


Ideliya Khismatova, Environmental Science & Statistics and Analytics, B.S. ’23
Becca Segal ’25

Ex Officios

  • Lew Kellogg, Director of Energy Services
  • Obadele St. George, Energy Engineer
  • Jessica O’Hara, Energy Management Data Analyst
  • Cindy Register, Assistant Director of Engineering Services
  • Cindy Shea, Director of the Sustainability Office
  • Leda Van Doren, Energy Professor

Voting and Non-Voting Members
There are 7 voting members appointed by Student Government: 2 co-chairs and 3 undergraduates by the Undergraduate Senate and 2 graduate students by the Graduate & Professional Student Federation (GPSF) Senate. There are usually 15-20 active non-voting members in addition to these.


In 2002 and 2003, students successfully campaigned to get a referendum for a Renewable Energy Fee on the ballot during campus elections. In February 2003, the referendum was approved by 74.5% of students, creating the fee and RESPC. The Board of Trustees and Board of Governors approved the fee in 2004, and collection began in the 2004-2005 school year. The fee was renewed in 2005 with 85% approval, 2009 with 83% approval, and finally in 2013 with 83% approval. The 2009 election expanded RESPC’s mandate to include energy efficiency, education, and maintenance along with renewable energy projects. The 2013 election made the fee permanent, though a bill is expected to pass that will require audits every four years.